If you are a military attorney in Texas who meets the criteria in Rule XXII and
who wishes to apply for limited permission to participate in certain Texas
3. Complete the Military Attorney Registration application below. This includes
an Authorization and Release form, your affidavit, and the affidavit of the
Supervisory Staff Judge Advocate or Supervisory Military Attorney. All forms
must be notarized. Do not re-type this application or use a scanned or
photocopied version, as it will be returned unprocessed. Incomplete applications
will be returned without processing. In order to use the pdf version of the
application, you will need to have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your PC. If
you do not have, or if you need to update to the most current version of Adobe,
click on the icon below to go to Adobe's download site. This is a free download.
Note: if you are using Version 4 of Adobe, you may be unable to use this form.
We suggest you download and install the new version of Adobe, and then try to
open the application form.
Military Attorney Registration Application
4. Filing Fees: Make your check, money order, or bank cashier’s check payable in
the full amount due to the BOARD OF LAW EXAMINERS (NOT to the State Bar of
Texas). The filing fee is $25.00. (See Rule XVIII) Do not postdate your check.
An application is not considered filed until all fees are received in the
Board’s office. If your personal check for fees is returned for insufficient
funds or is otherwise dishonored by your bank, you will be assessed a returned
check charge. All fees due after that time must be paid by bank cashier’s check
or money order. There is no refund of fees if you withdraw your Military
Attorney Registration application or do not meet all requirements for admission.
5. Proof of Admission to Practice Law and Certificate of Good Standing (CGS):
You must include with your Military Attorney Registration application proof of
admission to practice law and a current, original certificate of good standing
as a member of the bar in any state or territory of the United States or the
District of Columbia. The CGS must be issued within 30 days of submitting this
application. Your application will be returned if you do not include your proof
of admission and an original, current CGS.
6. Filing of application: Mail or deliver your original, signed and notarized
Military Attorney Registration application and required fees to the Board as
|Board of Law Examiners
P.O. Box 13486
Austin, TX 78711-3486
|Board of Law
205 West 14th Street, 5th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
The Board will acknowledge receipt of your application within two weeks.
(Exception: NO applications will be processed during the administration of the
Texas Bar Exam. Please review our Exam Dates page for specific dates.)
The acknowledgment letter will serve as your approval of Registration for
Limited Permission to Practice in Texas. If you do not receive such an
acknowledgment within two weeks, please contact the Board’s office.
Once you receive your acknowledgment letter, your limited permission to appear
as an attorney and practice before the courts and other tribunals of Texas in
any civil proceeding, subject to the conditions and limitations in Rule XXII of
the Rules Governing Admission to the Bar of Texas and applicable law, will
remain valid for a period of one year from the date of the letter. The
registration is renewable annually, provided that you complete at least 15
credit hours of continuing legal education coursework offered by the State Bar
of Texas within the first year of your registration, which shall include a
minimum of 3 hours of Legal Ethics. The website for the State Bar of Texas is
Do not submit your proof of having completed the continuing legal education
coursework to the Board of Law Examiners until you file your renewal application
FILING AN ANNUAL RENEWAL APPLICATION
You must file an application for renewal annually, together with a
renewal-filing fee of $25.00 and proof of having completed the continuing legal
education requirement. The instructions above also pertain to the renewal
TO FILE YOUR ANNUAL RENEWAL:
On the application form, check the box that states: I am filing a renewal for
Military Registration and have enclosed proof of having completed the continuing
legal education requirement.
Submit your completed form with the following:
- Filing fee of $25.00 made payable to the Board of Law Examiners
- Proof of Admission to Practice Law and current Certificate of Good Standing (CGS)
- Proof of having completed at least 15 credit hours of continuing legal
education coursework offered by the State Bar of Texas, which must include a
minimum of 3 hours of Legal Ethics.
Your application for renewal will be returned if it is incomplete and lacks any
of the above-required items.